top of page

Summer research with interns

Summer mentoring is coming to an end. I had exciting opportunities to work with two smart hard-working students, Roop and Antonia, on two diverse projects. Read more to learn about their experiences!!

"My name is Roopkamal Kaur and this summer I conducted research at Biosphere 2 and the University of Arizona as a STAR Fellow. STAR fellows conduct research at various facilities around the country during the summer. The STAR program is dedicated to bringing future STEM teachers into the field of scientific research, as understanding new techniques and methods of research is crucial to preparing future generations of scientists and thinkers. I worked alongside Aditi on a project that examines the presence of microbial life in an artificial landscape system at Biosphere 2 called the Landscape Evolution Observatory, or LEO. I was responsible for assisting Aditi with the DNA extractions that had to be conducted on each soil sample. Never having worked on these many samples for one experiment, I learned the importance of keeping detailed records of each procedure. And since there is a certain amount of experimental human error that comes with research, I also found that it is sometimes necessary to repeat procedures in order to ensure that the data is accurate. After a break of about 2 years from research, I had an amazing time getting back into the field this summer. Working at Biosphere 2 and the university alongside Aditi has been a great experience and I was able to reconnect with the curiosity that drives scientific inquiry. I look forward to seeing where Aditi takes this project with her drive and passion for her work how and the experiments conducted at LEO in the future."

"My name is Antonia Jim and I am a Native American student from Fort Lewis College. I am interning at the University of Arizona under the Integrated Optics for Undergraduate Native Americans (IOU-NA). The objective of their program is to provide research opportunities for Native American students, who are interested in working hands-on in laboratories that will be beneficial to fields such as: hydrology, optics, photonics, astronomy and environmental science (which is the field that I am majoring in). The program matches you with a mentor in a similar department to the student’s interests and future goals, along with other workshops that are beneficial to undergraduate Native Americans, such as applying to graduate schools and taking the graduate record exam. My summer in the program working with Aditi was overwhelming but beneficial. It’s given me insight as to how my career in science would be like and the type of workload I can expect to have. I’ve learned that being diligent in recording data and observation results has its perks especially for someone who doesn’t have that great of a memory. It was also beneficial to me, as someone who learns anything by being hands-on, to learn the processes of a greenhouse experiment step by step instead of being limited to reading about the project in a research paper. With it being my first time working in a lab, I was a bit intimidated and hesitant on working alone on some samples, although Aditi was very patient working with me and great to explain the entire process. Now that my experience is ending, I feel proud to have this experience under my belt and I can positively say that I learned more than what I expected to. The entire program was filled with new, interesting information everyday and if I was offered another chance to take this opportunity again, I would. I would also recommend it to future students. It was great to meet Aditi, and the unique students and staff and learn where they are from, what they are working on, and what following their passion has taken them."

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page