top of page

Microbes are everywhere!

An increasingly common question that I get asked these days: "Are there microbes on Mars?"

I think The Martian got people thinking. I finally saw the movie and realized why people keep asking me that question. They see the hostile environment of Mars, they see the barren LEO landscape, they see that I am able to prove there is life on LEO, so intuitively they ask me if there is life on Mars! And I say, yes. Of course this is a matter of personal opinion with no scientific proof to back up what I am saying but I do firmly believe that it is only a matter of time before we find life on mars, and that life is going to be microbial. This particular paper, Geomicrobiology: Low Life puts my thoughts very succintly "microbes turn up nearly everywhere that scientists search for them".

Our quest to understand the natural world around us is formidable to say the least. But it is exciting, challenging, exhiliarating, and it is more than being a scientist in lab working on our experiments. And this is what makes me like my work. I pretty much went blindfold into the system I am working with. With absolutely no visible sign of life on LEO, I am able to see life and appreciate the intricacies of biological processes, in conjunction with the physcial world! It is another thing that now I look for signs of bacterial life everywhere I go!

For the love of microbes and the insights we gain from them!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page